Laureates of the Federation

A Laureate of the Federation, established in 1969, is named by the FIAV Board for making an outstanding, original contribution to the science of vexillology. This is the highest recognition in vexillology. A Laureate receives a certificate signed by the Board and a medal bearing the central knot device of the FIAV flag suspended from a neck ribband of blue and yellow, the colors of the FIAV flag, as well as a miniature ribbon and a lapel pin. A Laureate may use the post-nominal LF. A Laureate is named only when there is a worthy recipient.

E.M.C. Barraclough+
Whitney Smith+
Ottfried Neubecker+
William G. Crampton+
Scot M. Guenter
Frederick G. Brownell
September 28, 1983
July 5, 1991
August 2, 1999
August 2, 1999
July 29, 2003
September 4, 2015